Monday, September 15, 2008

The Credit Card Grief

Credit Card Grief
(Based on Elisabeth K├╝bler-Ross’ Five Stages of Grief)

1. I Can Still Pay.

A conscious or unconscious refusal to accept reality relating to the situation concerned.
It's a defense mechanism and perfectly natural.

2. Why Do I Have To Lose My Job At This Time?

Angry with themselves, and/or with others, especially those close to
them.Knowing this helps keep detached and non-judgmental when
experiencing the anger of someone who is very upset
(e.g. parent/husband/wife)

3. Can I Only Pay What I Can Afford ?

"Can we still be friends?.." when facing a break-up. Bargaining
rarely provides a sustainable solution.
( Remember the “Amnesty Program”? )

4. They’re Going To Sue Me!

It's natural to feel sadness and regret, fear, uncertainty, etc.
It shows that the person has at least begun to accept the reality.

5. Go Ahead, Sue Me!

An indication that there is some emotional detachment and objectivity.

No comments:

Post a Comment